Grantees: Immigrant Communities

Hard-to-Count Immigrant Outreach

Centro Savilia»

$7,000 to train and deploy Centro Savilia case managers for census outreach among immigrant communities in the South Valley and International District; Project Contact: William G. Wagner, bill@centrosavila.org, 505-312-7296

Community Action Agency of Southern New Mexico»

$20,000 to engage community members and train promotoras for outreach among 37 colonias in Doña Ana County; Project Contact: Mark A. Hohnstreiter, markh@caasnm.org, 505-527-8799, Ext. 131

El CENTRO de Igualdad y Derechos»

$12,000 to implement a census media and communications campaign for member Latino immigrant workers, families and communities of color in Bernalillo County: Project Contact: Rachel LaZar, rlazar@elcentronm.org, 246-1627

NM Alliance of Health Councils»

$7,500 for census training, education and outreach through its extensive statewide network of 39 health councils and their community partners, including the NM Association of Counties; Project Contact: Terrie Rodriguez, terrie@nmhealthcouncils.org, 505-231-1177

New Mexico Asian Family Center

$7,000 to engage, train and deploy community liaisons among the Pan-Asian communities of Bernalillo and Sandoval Counties; Project Contact: Anni Leming, anni@nmafc.org, 505-717-2877

New Mexico Black History Organizing Committee»

$7,000 to test effective census messaging strategies and implement a public education campaign for Black immigrants throughout Central New Mexico; Project Contact: Catheryn McGill, cathryn@nmblackhistorymonth.com, 505- 407-6784

New Mexico Dream Team»

$18,000 to deploy grassroots digital organizing and census outreach strategies in Espanola, Pojoaque, Bernalillo, Santa Fe, Grant and Dona Ana Counties for immigrants and asylum seekers; Project Contact: Ambar Pinto, ambar@unitedwedream.org, 505-263-6971

Somos un Pueblo Unido»

$$18,000 to conduct census outreach including media, canvassing and education for Santa Fe, Lea, Chaves, Curry and Roosevelt Counties among immigrant and migrant communities; Project Contact: Marcela Diaz, Marcela@somosunpueblounido.org, 505-670-9301

New Mexico Immigrant Law Center»

$18,000 to combine census education and outreach in conjunction with legal services to individual immigrant families and nonprofit organizations throughout Central New Mexico; Project Contact: Jennifer Landau, jlandau@nmilc.org & Christy Sobolik, csobolik@nmilc.org, 505-321-7716

NM CAFé»

$14,000 to work through its membership in Doña Ana, Luna, Otero, Grant, and Hidalgo counties to train leaders for census outreach in engage immigrant and migrant populations; Project Contact: Angelica Rubio, angelica@organizenm.org, 575-524-0897

Partnership for Community Action»

$7,000 to develop census training and education for 150 families who will provide outreach to immigrant families in the South Valley and southwest mesa of Albuquerque; Project Contact: Nichelle Gilbert, nichelleg@forcommunityaction.org, 505-247-9222

SouthWest Organizing Project»

$7,000 to deploy a census media and communications outreach campaign to SWOP members with a focus on its networks in Albuquerque, Pajarito Mesa, South Valley, Mesquite, Estancia, and Las Vegas; Project Contact: George Luján, george@swop.net, 505-400-6403

United Way of Eastern New Mexico»

$7,500 to conduct census education and outreach in partnership with the Complete Count Committees in Clovis, Curry, Roosevelt, and Portales Counties among immigrant populations; Project Contact: Erinn Burch, staff@unitedwayenm.org, 575-769-2103